Eggs florentine

I used to stumble out of my bed in New York for brunch at restaurants—OH WAIT.  Restaurants in Japan don’t serve brunch.  EVER!  So what was I supposed to do?  No more all you can drink and sunday brunch with friends, talking about the shenanigans from the night before?  I say NO THANK YOU, I will create sunday brunch (which, by the time I actually cooked, was linner time) myself.  So tada, I have a recipe for eggs florentine!  Ooh, hollandaise sauce, お久しぶり!

I also overcame a huge fear when creating this dish–I was scurrrred to the bone by poaching because it WAS difficult even after watching hours of tutorials via youtube, but thanks to tips from friends, not an egg wasted.  It was over easy.

Three very important notes:

1. I am introducing a new tool I picked up at Daiso which allows me to steam and double boil!  I call it a steamer stand, since I kind of can’t find anything online that is comparable.  It is called a 2 way 蒸し蓋落し蓋 (mushibuta otoshibuta), meaning two way steamer and cover, although it is not what a traditional cover looks like .  In fact I am not sure it can be used as a traditional otoshibuta??  Here is what it looks like:

Steamer stand

Another useful thing from Daiso!

2. I have discovered that there are lots of things on sale in the MORNING when the supermarkets open, so I was able to get 10 eggs for 100 Yen ($1)!  I guess the early bird does catch the worm.

3.  My friend Jeffrey had mentioned before I started on the Hollandaise sauce that it was ”All in the wrist”.  BOY, was he right!
Eggs florentine

Our Linner.Photo credit: Cat

Eggs florentine

Prep time: 20 minutes                Cooking time: 25-30 minutes              Servings: 6

Budget for ingredients: ¥600

Equipment:
1 pan
1 bowl (I used my glass one)
Whisk
1 pot
Slotted spoon

Ingredients:

For Hollandaise sauce:

4 egg yolks
1 T water
2 t lemon juice
12 T cold butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 t salt
1/2 t cayenne pepper

For Eggs florentine:

12 eggs
1 T rice vinegar
1 bunch of spinach, cut into thirds
12 slices roasted ham (forgive me, there was no thicker cut than the sandwich slices)
6 English muffins

Directions:

1. Fill your pan with water to about 1 inch ( 2.5 cm) and get the water simmering.

2. Beat the eggs and water together in a glass bowl until it becomes fluffier and add the lemon juice.

3. Whisk until the volume doubles, and can coat the back of a spoon.

4.  Place the bowl on top of the steamer stand, (water should NOT touch the bowl) and whisk quickly because you do not want the egg yolks to cook!

5.  Drop the butter in a couple pieces at a time and continue to whisk quickly until they melt.  The sauce should double in volume!

6. Take off from the heat and add in the salt and pepper.  Onto the poached eggs!

7.  Fill a pot up with water and add the rice vinegar.  Vinegar is added because it cooks an egg faster than just water alone.  Bring to a boil.

8. Crack an egg into the water, be careful not to break the yolk, and lower the heat into a simmer for a couple minutes.  If that doesn’t work, turn the heat completely off.  Remove your eggs via slotted spoon.

9. Toast English muffins with ham in a toaster oven for 5 minutes at 140C.

10.  Saute the chopped spinach in the pan.

11.  Layer: English muffin, ham, spinach, egg, Hollandaise sauce.  Done, and hens forth, I will not lay on anymore puns.  Eggscrutionarily lame, sorry!

Leave a Reply

