Surprise cake!

So I have wanted to make zucchini bread for the longest, but it seems as though they have all but disappeared from my local grocery. Instead, I found myself searching for recipes anyways because either I am extremely stubborn, full of wishful thinking, or both, and found a recipe from Cooking Ninja that was labeled “Only for the Brave Ones”.  I made it but before I served it I didn’t tell anyone what was in it in case they wouldn’t try it.

In fact, I made them guess what the ingredient was, and most people thought it was some kind of shellfish.  Why, I can’t really tell you, but I guess I will search for some kind of seafood bread medley next time.

Anyways everyone loved it, and were totally surprised after I told them what the ingredient was in this “Surprise cake”. Want to know what it was?  DAIKON (Asian radish)!!! :-O!!!   OMG.  But, cheap and EASY to make.  The taste is like a spongecake and very delicious.

Surprise cake

secret ingredient at the back...

Surprise cake

Prep time: 20 minutes                Baking time: 20-25 minutes              Servings: 8

Budget for ingredients: ¥600

Equipment:

1 pot
Whisk
Spatula
Square pan
Toaster oven

Ingredients:

4 eggs
1 3/4 c sugar (brown or white)
3/4 c vegetable oil
lemon zest from 1 lemon
1 3/4 c plain flour
3 c  carrot & daikon (shredded)
3 t baking powder
1 t ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
3/4 t ground ginger
a pinch of salt

Directions:

1. Beat the eggs and sugar together until it gets fluffy.

2. Add lemon zest and oil.

3. Stir in dry ingredients.

4. Fold in shredded vegetables.

5. Pour the batter into an oiled baking pan at 175C for 20 minutes until you poke a hole in the middle with a chopstick and it comes out clean!

One thought on “Surprise cake!

  1. Pingback: Julienne peeler « delectable delights in nihon

Leave a Reply

